Save Merged Files to a Specific Google Drive Folder

How can I change the default save location for merged files to a folder of my choice on Google Drive?

Be default, files are saved under My Drive. This article describes how to save your merged files to a specific folder on Google Drive, enabling better organization of merged files produced from different Google Docs or Slides templates. Merged files may include letters generated during mail merges and files sent as PDF email attachments based on Google Docs templates.

From the Google Docs Add-on

Step 1

In Google Docs, open the Options dialog box by clicking the button in the Mail Merge sidebar.

Step 2

Click My Drive under Save Merged Files To.

Step 3

Select a Google Drive folder in which to save your merged files, e.g. My Merge Files, and then click Select.

Step 4

Click Save to apply changes.

Note that My Drive under Save Merged Files To in the Options dialog box will change to your preferred save location, e.g. My Merge Files.

You also have the option to save your merged documents as PDF files by selecting Yes under Save to PDF.

Step 5

Select Letters under Merge To and then click Merge.

Step 6

Click the link provided to view your files in Google Drive.

From the Google Slides Add-on

Step 1

In Google Slides, open the Options dialog box by clicking the button in the Mail Merge sidebar.

Step 2

Click My Drive under Save Merged Files To.

Step 3

Select a Google Drive folder in which to save your merged files, e.g. My Merge Files, and then click Select.

Step 4

Click Save to apply changes.

Note that My Drive under Save Merged Files To in the Options dialog box will change to your preferred save location, e.g. My Merge Files.

You also have the option to save your merged documents as PDF files by selecting Yes under Save to PDF.

Step 5

Select Presentations under Merge To and then click Merge.

Step 6

Click the link provided to view your files in Google Drive.